No rural, Liberal ridings with wind turbines

This is worth revisiting as it cost the Liberals at least 9 seats (below) & their coveted majority. This article says that:

There are many wind farms now operational in Ontario. (Where these corresponded to Liberal ridings, 100 per cent are now either PC or NDP ridings.)

This is true of rural ridings, those with no cities over 100,000 population. Ontario has at least 55 completed projects with between 2 & 110 wind turbines each. Of these, 2 projects are in Liberal ridings. However, Kingston & Thunder Bay both have more than 100,000 population & can’t be considered rural ridings as the number of votes in each riding was far less than 100,000.

The rural/urban divide is clearly visible on the CBC website.

The Ontario government also uses 100,000 to define ‘rural’:

For the purposes of the RED Program, ‘rural’ encompasses all of Ontario with the exception of the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) and eight large urban areas. These large urban areas are the cities of Hamilton, Ottawa, Greater Sudbury, Thunder Bay, London and Windsor, and the regions of Niagara and Waterloo. However, communities and lower tier municipalities, with a population of less than 100,000 within the GTA or within the eight large urban areas, will be considered rural.

2011 Ontario election results:

With the exception of Kingston and the Islands, and Thunder Bay Atikokan, anomolies as largely urban population base ridings with turbines in rural fringes, it seems EVERY riding that has or is actively targeted for more than 1 wind turbine has repudiated the government that set the turbine policy and direction.
– Huron Bruce (Lisa Thompson PC) – Gained from Liberal cabinet minister
– Bruce Grey Owen Sound (Bill Walker PC)
– Haldimand Norfolk (Toby Barrett PC)
– Elgin Middlesex London (Jeff Yurek PC) Gained from Liberals
– Oxford (Ernie Hardeman PC)
– Lambton Kent Middlesex (Monte McNaughton PC) Gained from Liberals
– Perth Wellington (Randy Pettapiece PC) Gained form Liberal cabinet minister
– Dufferin Caledon (Sylvia Jones PC)
– Niagara West Glanbrook (Tim Hudak PC)
– Haliburton Kawartha Lakes Brock (Laurie Scott PC)
Gained from Liberals
– Prince Edward Hastings (Todd Smith PC) Gained from Liberal cabinet minister
– Chatham Kent Essex (Rick Nichols PC) Gained from Liberals
– Sarnia Lambton
(Bob Bailey PC)
– Renfrew Nipissing Pembroke (John Yakabuski PC)
– Algoma Manitoulin (Michael Mantha NDP) Gained from Liberals
– Essex (Taras Natyshak NDP)
Gained from Liberals


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: